Conference organised under the auspices of the Presidency of Finland of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe

Strasbourg (FR) on 6-7 May 2019 

The aim of the Council of Europe Conference on the European Landscape Convention is to present to the member States of the Council of Europe the progress made in the implementation of the Convention, and practical questions related to its implementation.

The Conference is the means by which the Council of Europe ensures the implementation of the Convention, in accordance with its Article 10. The conclusions of the Conference will be brought to the attention of the Steering Committee for Culture, Heritage and Landscape (CDCPP) which will then Report to the Committee of Ministers.

The event is organised by the
Council of Europe – Secretariat of the Council of Europe Landscape Convention, Directorate of Democratic Participation

in co-operation with the delegation of the signatory states to the ELC.

Palais de l’Europe

Please contact the Council of Europe by email.

Empty section. Edit page to add content here.


The programme and details are available from the Council of Europe web site of the event.


The European Landscape Convention was adopted by the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe on 19 July 2000 in Strasbourg and opened for signature of the Member States of the Organisation in Florence (Italy) on 20 October 2000, with the aims to promote European landscape protection, management and planning, and to organise international co-operation. It is the first international treaty to be exclusively devoted to all aspects of landscape. The Convention applies to the entire territory of the Parties and covers natural, rural, urban and peri-urban areas. It concerns landscapes that might be considered outstanding as well as everyday or degraded landscapes.

To date, 39 Council of Europe Member States have ratified the Convention: Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Republic of Moldova, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine and the United Kingdom. Two States have signed the Convention: Iceland and Malta.

The Convention provides an important contribution to the implementation of the Council of Europe’s objectives, namely to promote democracy, human rights and the rule of law and to seek common solutions to the main problems facing European society today. By developing a new territorial culture, the Council of Europe seeks to promote the quality of life for the population.

Meet us!

CIVILSCAPE will be present at this event with:

  • Inge Gotzmann, Vice-President respresenting CIVILSCAPE towards the European Insitutions
  • Gerhard Ermischer, Board member and Representative to the Council of Europe
  • Dirk Gotzmann, Director

Please contact us in advance for potential side meetings. If you would like to join the CIVILSCAPE delegation, please contact the CIVILSCAPE Office Bonn at least 3 weeks in advance.

Please use the CIVILSCAPE Groupoffice system.